Life after a marathon … 


 

So I wanted to share what I learned during my marathon training, during my marathon and after my marathon….

 These are probably things most runners might already know but being that I am not a technical runner I just figured this stuff out….

 

I have never been the runner who “ carb loads or fuels” on a regular basis. When I carb load I basically use it as an excuse to eat some junk food! I have used GU to fuel mid-race before but not always. I also so not drink water or electrolytes during a race. ( I drink a lot of water on a regular basis as it is). I am what I call, an empty runner. Wake up, get dressed, arrive & run. Drink, eat when I am done.

 

However, I KNEW for this marathon I wasn’t going to be able to do that. I was reading online and following other folks as they journeyed through their marathons. So first thing I bought was a hydration pack. I was stoked to have found it on REI.com/rei-garage on clearance plus since we have membership I paid $27 for a $60 camelback hydration pack #score! It didn’t take long to get used to either, I was actually pretty happy I finally invested in one! So I was set for hydration. Now on to fuel.

 

My first go to item was the GU chews since I had used them in the past, however, they upset my stomach so that was out. I did the sport beans but rally felt like they didn’t do anything for me. Well, if I am being completely honest, I don’t know if I am supposed to feel ANYTHING at all when consuming these “ fuels”. Anyhow, decided no go on the sport beans, then one day after a long training I got a little shakey and had to sit down, the first thing that popped into my head was that I needed sugar! So I ate some candy. Sour gummy worms & orange slices… felt better immediately! 

So with that I decided next long training run I would run with candy as my fuel… On top of that, since I am an Herbalifer, I ordered myself some snack defense which is to help balance blood sugar. I also started having an Herbalife shake the morning of a race! 

 

Water check ✔️

Fuel check ✔️

 

Now onto the whole carb loading, still don’t have this one down. BUT since I was training my caloric intake had increased, when I began to taper I didn’t decrease my calorie intake therefore I was fully loaded for this long distance run. ( I don’t even know if that makes sense but to me it did so I went with it) and it worked.

 

So you ran a marathon….. what happens next? Well first off you take like 4 days off ( at least I did) remember my knee hated me for a few days. The first few runs after my marathon hurt, they were slow and a little discouraging. I knew better though, I knew I couldn’t expect to get out the door and pull off a 10 minute mile right away. So I patiently took my time and listened to my body and allowed my knee to fully heal. This week I was able to pull off 2 – 4 mile runs with a less than 10 minute average pace. I AM BACK!


 

Thankfully too, because I have a half marathon in 17 days! I was selected as an ambassador for Walnut Creek half marathon taking place on December 10th! This will finish off my year of running! Then I can go back to casually running on my own schedule, until January that is…..

 

My next goal is to run Pony Express Half Marathon which is on April 30th, 2017 in Sacramento , CA in 2 hours! That’s a huge goal for me and 12 minute PR potential! Can I do it? NO CLUE, but I will train and I will try!  

 

So let me think what else did I learn……

 

 

 

I learned that I CAN stick to a strict schedule.

I learned how to become disciplined.

I learned that training is much better with friends.

I learned that the body can do whatever the mind tells it to.

I learned that giving up is NOT an option.

I learned that some people just don’t understand what it takes to train and run a marathon and how big of a deal it really is. ( especially for a first timer)

I learned that it’s ok to set a time goal and NOT achieve it.

 

 

I am sure there are tons of things technical and mental things that I learned but what I really took from all of this is that.. I CAN do hard things!

 

Don’t ever doubt yourself, if you want something it’s gonna take some work, discipline, sacrifice, maybe even some blood, sweat and tears. All of that is cake when you have the bigger picture and goal I mind.

 

Anyhow, I wish you all a VERY happy Thanksgiving! I hope you enjoy the time with your family and friends and I especially hope you use this day to rally count your blessings. God bless you all!

 

 

 

Before I go, let me tell you about my race gear!

 

Shorts: Senita, Rosa shorts ( AMAZING BRAND) https://www.senitaathletics.com/


Top: Tek Gear ( kohls)

Hat: Bought from Walmart had Central Valley Sports customize it .. http://www.mycentralvalleysports.com

Earbuds: Powerbeats 2 by Dre – Link is for the updated version power beats 3 – https://www.beatsbydre.com/earphones/powerbeats3-wireless


Socks: A MUST HAVE – pro compression – http://www.procompression.com


Hydration pack: CamelBak – Charm – http://shop.camelbak.com/charm/d/1281


Knee support: Rock tape – http://www.rocktape.com


Shoes: Brooks Launch 3 – http://www.brooksrunning.com/en_us


Sports Bra: Under Armour – purchased at Ross

Road ID: http://www.roadID.com

 

Garmin Vivoactive : http://www.buy.garmin.com

Leave a Reply

